Tour de Suisse
Stage 1: Bellinzona - Bellinzona ITT - Stage Details

World Time Trial Champion Tony Martin recorded the quickest time on the opening stage time trial at the Tour de Suisse. The German stopped the clock at 13’48 over the technical, undulating 9.4 kilometre course in Bellinzona. Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Shimano) slotted into second place, six seconds slower than Martin, while Rohan Dennis (Garmin-Sharp) rounded out the stage one podium.

The first starter for ORICA-GreenEDGE on Saturday was also the top finisher. Michael Albasini finished 46” off Martin’s time, good for 40th place. Simon Clarke, Cameron Meyer and Nino Schurter also finished in the first third of the field with Clarke in 48th place, Meyer in 50th place and Schurter in 58th place

"We went into the time trial today with no great expectations. Cameron Meyer and Esteban Chaves foster potential general classification ambitions, so they both wanted to put in the best possible ride. In saying that, they both understand that our main goal here is to pull off a stage result. We’ll see how things go day to day in terms of the overall.

"The boys all got through the day pretty well unscathed despite the dramatic incident that many fans saw on television with Sam Bewley. Sam started one minute in front of Fabian Cancellara (Trek Factory Racing), and the cameras were on Cancellara for his entire ride. Cancellara caught Sam just before the decent, so they went downhill with only a bit of a separation. Sam overcooked it in a corner and went straight into a barrier. He managed to stay upright, which was quite the feat, but he had blown out his front tire when he hit the barrier. He didn’t realise it right away, so when he got going again, he went down – but at only three or four kilometres per hour." - Sport Director Neil Stephens


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Tony Martin (Ger) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 13:48:08
2 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) - Team Giant-Shimano 0:00:06
3 Rohan Dennis (Aus) - Garmin Sharp 0:00:13
4 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) - Trek Factory Racing 0:00:16
5 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:19
6 Peter Sagan (Svk) - Cannondale ST
7 Bauke Mollema (Ned) - Belkin-Pro Cycling Team 0:00:22
8 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) - Garmin Sharp 0:00:23
9 Ion Izagirre Insausti (Spa) - Movistar Team 0:00:27
10 Mattia Cattaneo (Ita) - Lampre-Merida 0:00:29
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
40 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:46
48 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:53
50 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
57 Nino Schurter (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:55
100 Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:16
139 Mathew Hayman (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:35
164 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:53
171 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:06