Tour de Suisse
Stage 3: Sarnen - Heiden - Stage Details

Michael Albasini sprinted to second in Heiden, coming across the line behind Peter Sagan (Cannondale). His podium placing out of the reduced bunch comes on the heels of Cameron Meyer’s brilliant victory yesterday and capped off an impressive show of strength by ORICA-GreenEDGE throughout the third stage of the Tour de Suisse. Sergio Henao (Team Sky) rounded out the podium.

The first half of the stage was dominated by a two rider breakaway. Martin Kohler (BMC) and Steven Kruijswijk (Belkin) slipped up the road after the opening 20 kilometres. The duo were kept on a relatively short leash by Omega Pharma – Quick-Step who never allowed the gap to swell beyond the four minute mark.

With an undulating second half the stage and an uphill finish well-suited to Albasini’s strengths, ORICA-GreenEDGE sent riders to the front to shut down the break with about two hours left to race. Sam Bewley and Mat Hayman handily accomplished the task at hand. Seventy kilometres from the finish, the race had come back together.

Nino Schurter counter-attacked the catch of the early breakaway. Laurent Didier (Trek Factory) racing bridged across to the lone leader. Shortly after Didier joined Schurter, Danilo Wyss (BMC) and Bjorn Thurau (Europcar) made the junction. Thurau would eventually lose contact and Tosh Van Der Sande (Lotto Belisol) and Valeri Agnoli (Astana) would add fresh legs to the group.

Garmin-Sharp and led the chase, eventually shutting down the move seven kilometres from the finish line. A number of riders attempted to put in a last ditch bid for stage glory, but a fast-reacting peloton kept the front group together. The high speed and technical finale caused splits in the group. Ultimately only the first 11 riders finished on bunch time with another 29 coming to the line five seconds later. Race leader Tony Martin (Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) finished with the group at five seconds to protect his race lead.

"There were clearly a lot of teams interested in the finish today, and that kept the pace really high. We knew if Nino’s group was brought back, we would bring Sagan and a couple others into the finish with us. We also knew we had done everything we could for a result. We gave ourselves a chance at the start of race. We gave ourselves a chance in the middle of the race with Nino in the break. Now we were ready to give it a chance in the sprint finish with Albasini." - Sport Director Neil Stephens 


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Peter Sagan (Svk) - Cannondale 5:22:09
2 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
3 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) - Team Sky ST
4 Bauke Mollema (Ned) - Belkin-Pro Cycling Team ST
5 Cadel Evans (Aus) - BMC Racing Team ST
6 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
7 Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) - Lampre-Merida ST
8 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) - ST
9 Mathias Frank (Swi) - IAM Cycling ST
10 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
26 Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:05
112 Nino Schurter (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:38
130 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:12:47
135 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
139 Mathew Hayman (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
149 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
152 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:15:25