Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco
Stage 1: Bilbao to Bilbao - Stage Details

2015 Paris-Nice stage winner and sprint classification champion Michael Matthews has won the opening stage of the Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco in Spain today.

Matthews won from a reduced bunch sprint, ahead of world champion Michal Kwiatkowski (Etixx Quick-Step), following a challenging finale that involved a category two climb in the last 20km.

The victory was the 24-year-old’s second at the race, following a stage win in 2014, and the second consecutive victory for ORICA-GreenEDGE in Spain after Caleb Ewan’s performance at the Vuelta a la Rioja yesterday.

“I was quite confident going into the stage,” Matthews said. “We did a recon of the final climb yesterday and I knew what I was in for, it just came down to what legs I had today.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 3:57:07
2 Michal Kwiatkowski (POL) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
3 Ilnur Zakarin (RUS) - Team Katusha ST
4 Kévin Reza (FRA) - ST
5 Tony Gallopin (FRA) - Lotto Soudal ST
6 Julien Simon (FRA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits ST
7 Fabio Felline (ITA) - Trek Factory Racing ST
8 Valerio Agnoli (ITA) - Astana Pro Team ST
9 Petr Vakoc (CZE) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
10 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (SPA) - Team Katusha ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 3:57:07
21 Esteban Chaves (COL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
27 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
56 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
70 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:09
109 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:44
110 Pieter Weening (NED) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:44
143 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:10:05