Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco
Stage 5: Eibar to Aia - Stage Details

2014 Tour of Alberta mountains classification champion Simon Yates has finished sixth on the penultimate stage of the Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco, courtesy of a bold attack from a chase group of general classification contenders on the final climb of the day.

The gutsy ride has moved the 22-year-old from ninth into third overall with a 18.3km time trial, featuring the same climbs as today’s stage, concluding the Tour tomorrow.

The story of the day saw two battles, one for the stage win from survivors of an early breakaway of 31 riders, the second in the chase, for valuable seconds at the top of the general classification table.

Looking strong and recognising his chance, Yates attacked from the chase group of race favourites on the final climb, finishing 53seconds behind stage winner Mikel Landa (Astana Pro Team).

“It started yesterday on the final climb,” Yates said of his strategy. “I was always reacting to the favourites and I was letting them dictate the pace but in the end I was still with them.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Mikel Landa Meana (SPA) - Astana Pro Team 4:06:01
2 Tim Wellens (BEL) - Lotto Soudal 0:00:03
3 Thomas Danielson (USA) - Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team 0:00:16
4 Rein Taaramae (EST) - Astana Pro Team 0:00:28
5 Tony Gallopin (FRA) - Lotto Soudal 0:00:38
6 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:53
7 Sergio Luis Henao (COL) - Team Sky 0:00:56
8 Joaquim Rodriguez (SPA) - Team Katusha 0:00:56
9 Tom Jelte Slagter (NED) - Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team 0:01:05
10 Alexis Vuillermoz (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:06
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
6 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:53
37 Pieter Weening (NED) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:59
39 Esteban Chaves (COL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:59
66 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:14
68 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:47
78 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:21
102 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:11:39