Australian Championships - Men
Criterium - Stage Details

Reigning champion Caleb Ewan has successfully defended his Australian criterium championship with a sprint victory in Ballarat this evening. 

It was the second win in as many days for the 22-year-old from New South Wales after he, like women’s winner Jessica Allen, won the final stage of the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic in Williamstown yesterday.

With just two teammates for company this year, Mitch Docker and Damien Howson worked hard to cover the early moves but it was IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness who created the bunch sprint after putting nine riders on the front of the peloton in the closing laps. 

“Coming back to the crits in Australia I do feel a little bit of pressure because I’ve done well here in the past few years,” Ewan said. “We started with a few less guys than we would have hoped and that was always going to make the race hard, but luckily it came together in the end.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 1:00:58
2 Scott Sunderland (AUS) - IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness p/b Cervelo ST
3 Brenton Jones (AUS) - JLT-Condor ST
4 Steele Von Hoff (AUS) - ST
5 Jesse Kerrison (AUS) - IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness p/b Cervelo ST
6 Jay Mccarthy (AUS) - Bora-Hansgrohe ST
7 Cameron Ivory (AUS) - GPM Stulz ST
8 Benjamin Hill (AUS) - ST
9 Joshua Taylor (AUS) - NSWIS ST
10 Scott Law (AUS) - Cylance Pro Cycling ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 1:00:58
19 Matt Howlett (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:05
28 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:22
40 Damien Howson (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:07