Australian Championships - Men
Road Race - Stage Details

Two-time national champion Simon Gerrans has fallen agonisingly short of a third title, claiming the silver medal at the Australian Championships in Buninyong today.

In a race that came down to the wire, it was an attack by Miles Scotson (BMC) with one kilometre to go that caught the splintered field by surprise to claim the coveted jersey.

Gerrans won the bunch sprint that crossed the finish line just a few metres short of Scotson. Nathan Haas (Dimension Data) rounded out the podium.

“It’s ever so disappointing when it’s so close,” Gerrans said. “But we had guys up the road all day long which was the plan. I wasn’t on the best day so I rode as conservatively as I could to stay in the race.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Miles Scotson (AUS) - BMC Racing Team 4:37:55
2 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT ST
3 Nathan Haas (AUS) - Dimension Data ST
4 Cameron Bayly (AUS) - IsoWhey Sports Swisswellness ST
5 Nathan Earle (AUS) - ST
6 Travis Meyer (AUS) - ST
7 Brendan Canty (AUS) - Cannondale-Drapac ST
8 Robbie Hucker (AUS) - IsoWhey Sports Swisswellness ST
9 Lachlan Norris (AUS) - UnitedHealthcare ST
10 Mark O'Brien (AUS) - ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT ST
14 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:24
42 Damien Howson (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:05:15
43 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:05:15