Bayern Rundfahrt
Stage 5: Wassertrüdingen - Nürnberg - Stage Details

Christian Meier won the mountains classification at Bayern Rundfahrt. The Canadian moved into the polka dot jersey following stage two and put up a strong defence to keep it until the end of the five day German tour. Meier started the final stage with a two point advantage over Julian Kern (Ag2r La Mondiale) and a three point advantage over Jens Voigt (Trek Factory Racing). By stage end, Meier had banked an additional two points to handily keep the jersey.

The fifth stage was an attacking affair from the gun. Meier remained attentive, keeping a particular close eye on Voigt. When the race reached the first King of the Mountain, five riders had a slight advantage on the peloton.

Meier made it across to the small front group and managed to scoop up two points. With a new total of 12 KOM points and only one category two climb remaining, it was mathematically impossible for anyone to eclipse Meier’s tally. As long as he finished the race, Meier would win the jersey.

Eventually a nine rider break would take shape and dominate the remainder of the early action. Twenty kilometres from the finish, the race was back together. While a few late race attacks kept the closing kilometres exciting, the day ultimately ended in a bunch sprint won by Sam Bennett (NetApp-Endura). Team Sky’s Geraint Thomas won the general classification. Impey retained seventh overall, 1’38 behind Thomas.

“I can’t thank the guys enough for their support. They all committed, and they were really excited about doing everything they could to help me. I was a little bit nervous because I knew with the points available today, there were a couple guys that could challenge for the jersey, but it helped to know that I had so much support from the team. I’m quite lucky. I didn’t have to do it by myself.” - Christian Meier


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Sam Bennett (Irl) - Team Netapp - Endura 3:31:40
2 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
3 Raymond Kreder (Ned) - Garmin Sharp ST
4 Alexandr Porsev (Rus) - Team Katusha ST
5 Phil Bauhaus (Ger) - Team Stölting ST
6 Heinrich Haussler (Aus) - IAM Cycling ST
7 Andreas Stauff (Ger) - MTN - Qhubeka ST
8 Nikias Arndt (Ger) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
9 Henning Bommel (Ger) - Rad-Net Rose Team ST
10 Davide Viganò (Ita) - Caja Rural - Seguros RGA ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
12 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
46 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
75 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
95 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
99 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:18
111 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:05