BinckBank Tour
Stage 1: Breda to Venray - Stage Details

After a second place at the recent Ride London Classic, Grand Tour stage winner Magnus Cortshowed his strong form again today taking third place on the opening stage of the BinckBank Tour after some great teamwork by ORICA-SCOTT.

A flat and rather pedestrian stage one played out much as anticipated with a four-man breakaway disappearing up the road early on before being caught with only three kilometres remaining by a peloton focused on the sprint finish.

ORICA-SCOTT had played it tactically very well, positioned near the front and in formation with both Roger Kluge and Mitch Docker ahead of Cort as the bunch split apart with two kilometres to go.

Docker was the last wheel for Cort as a messy sprint unfolded with Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) taking a narrow victory and Cort finishing well in third place after managing to break clear in the last 100metres.

“We are really happy with how it played out today,” said sport director Laurenzo Lapage. “The whole team did a great job to maintain position going into the final, we were looking to do well in the sprint, but also mindful about splits and not losing any time on the overall ahead of tomorrow’s time trial and in the end we ticked both of those boxes.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Bora-Hansgrohe 30:50:09
2 Phil Bauhaus (GER) - Team Sunweb
3 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
4 Dylan Groenewegen (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo
5 Boy van Poppel (NED) - Trek-Segafredo
6 Rick Zabel (GER) - Katusha-Alpecin
7 Wouter Wippert (NED) - Cannondale-Drapac
8 Jonas Rickaert (BEL) - Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise
9 André Greipel (GER) - Lotto Soudal
10 Edward Planckaert (BEL) - Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
29 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
47 Alexander Edmondson (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
71 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
91 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
97 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
106 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09