BinckBank Tour
Stage 2: Voorbrg to Voorburg - Stage Details

A rain affected second stage at the BinckBank Tour saw Vuelta a Espana stage winner Jens Keukeleire produce a strong, yet controlled time trial performance for ORICA-SCOTT, keeping the team’s general classification hopes alive.

Despite a dry start to today’s stage two individual time trial heavy rain soon began to fall causing a change in objectives for many riders as they sought to limit the damage both on the GC and also out on the road.

For the first few riders down the ramp the dry conditions proved to be a significant advantage, as Stefan Kung (BMC) became the early occupant of the hot seat and went on to take the stage win and the overall race lead.

Track specialist Alexander Edmondson produced the team’s best time with eleven minutes 24seconds to take 20th on the stage, but as sport director Laurenzo Lapage explained, once the rain started it became more about minimising the risk.

“We had wanted to give it a good effort today,” said Lapage. “With Alex and Michael Hepburnwe have two really strong time triallists and originally we had targeted this stage. However once the roads became wet they became dangerous and we instructed everyone to go hard on the straights, but take no risk in the corners.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Bora-Hansgrohe 30:50:09
2 Phil Bauhaus (GER) - Team Sunweb
3 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
4 Dylan Groenewegen (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo
5 Boy van Poppel (NED) - Trek-Segafredo
6 Rick Zabel (GER) - Katusha-Alpecin
7 Wouter Wippert (NED) - Cannondale-Drapac
8 Jonas Rickaert (BEL) - Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise
9 André Greipel (GER) - Lotto Soudal
10 Edward Planckaert (BEL) - Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
29 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
47 Alexander Edmondson (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
71 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
91 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
97 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09
106 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 30:50:09