BinckBank Tour
Stage 4: Lanaken to Lanaken - Stage Details

That's three top ten finishes out of four for Grand Tour stage winner Magnus Cort at the BinckBank Tour with the ORICA-SCOTT rider sprinting to seventh place on today’s stage four in another reduced and hectic finale.

A super fast fourth stage was distinguished by numerous early attacks over the first 90kilometres before a three-rider breakaway managed to go clear.

The trio did not enjoy much of a lead or much respite as the attentive peloton brought them back with less than 30kilometres to go. More attacks followed before a very late catch was made by a reduced bunch looking to set up the sprint over the last 200metres.

Lead out specialist Roger Kluge was last man for Cort and persevered to keep the fast finishing Dane as close to the front as possible as the sprint kicked into action.

Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo) ran out the eventual winner with Cort again finishing strongly to take seventh place. Stefan Kung (BMC) held onto the race lead with no big changes occurring on the general classification with three stages remaining.

“It was a really fast and nervous stage today,” said sport director Laurenzo Lapage. “The pace didn’t ease up at all and the weather conditions being so dismal only added to the tension. We decided early on that it was going to be important to look after ourselves and come through the day somewhere up near the front, protecting Jens Keukeleire and not losing any time on our rivals.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Edward Theuns (BEL) - Trek-Segafredo 3:24:23
2 Marko Kump (SLO) - Team UAE Emirates
3 Tim Merlier (BEL) - Veranda's Willems Crelan
4 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Bora-Hansgrohe
5 Dylan Groenewegen (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo
6 Danny Van Poppel (NED) - Team Sky
7 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 3:24:23
8 Marc Sarreau (FRA) - FDJ
9 Phil Bauhaus (GER) - Team Sunweb
10 Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) - Cannondale-Drapac
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
7 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 3:24:23
33 Roger Kluge (GER) - ORICA-SCOTT 3:24:23
51 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-SCOTT 3:24:23
98 Alexander Edmondson (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 3:24:23
126 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:12