BinckBank Tour
Stage 5: Sittard-Geleen to Sittard-Geleen - Stage Details

An active and productive fifth stage for ORICA-SCOTT at the BinckBank Tour saw Australian time trial specialist Michael Hepburn lead the day’s breakaway move before teammate and GC hopeful Jens Keukeleire marked the late attacks to finish with the leaders.

A hilly parcours around the Limberg region of the Netherlands mirrored the Amstel Gold Race with Hepburn a key component of the early seven-rider attack that led the race for nearly 130kilometres.

Late accelerations from Team-Sunweb brought the race back together with 25kilometres to go before an attack by a small group of race favourites broke clear to contest the stage win.

Keukeleire was attentive and made the split with the other contenders after a brief chase. Attack after attack followed with Lars Boom (LottoNL-Jumbo) soloing to the stage win and moving into the race lead as Keukeleire climbs to ninth overall going into the last two day’s of racing.

“It was another nervous day for us,” said sport director Laurenzo Lapage. “This was a tough parcours on narrow roads with lots twists and turns and sharp climbs and we were always conscious that the weather might change. In the end it worked out well.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Lars Boom (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 3:43:46
2 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:03
3 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team
4 Oliver Naesen (BEL) - AG2R La Mondiale
5 Jasper Stuyven (BEL) - Trek-Segafredo
6 Philippe Gilbert (BEL) - Quick-Step Floors
7 Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) - Cannondale-Drapac
8 Tim Wellens (BEL) - Lotto Soudal
9 Danny Van Poppel (NED) - Team Sky
10 Jasha Sütterlin (GER) - Movistar Team
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
15 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:03
25 Alexander Edmondson (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:46
44 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:46
61 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:46
70 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:02:07
80 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:03:03
87 Roger Kluge (GER) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:05:43