Borsele TT - Race Overview

Former Dutch time trial champion Annemiek Van Vleuten had another strong performance this evening to finish in fourth place in the EPZ Omloop van Borseleindividual time trial event.

The 33-year-old stopped the clock in a time of 26minutes 41seconds, just one second short of a podium finish on the short 19.9kilometre course.

The fastest time was set by former world time trial champion Lisa Brennauer (Canyon-Sram) just three seconds ahead of second place.

Chrono Gatuneau winner Tayler Wiles and Australian time trial champion Katrin Garfoot also produced strong rides sitting in the podium spots for most of the event. It came down to the final batch of riders to knock the duo off the podium, eventually finishing the event in 7th and 8th place respectively.

Sport director Gene Bates expressed his satisfaction with the girl's performances on a course that wasn't the most suited to their strengths. 

"Really good ride by all three girls considering this is a time trial which probably doesn't suit them, with it being only 19kilometres, flat and windy," Bates said.

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Lisa Brennauer (GER) - Canyon/SRAM Racing 26:22.7
2 Ellen van Dijk (NED) - Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team 2.72
3 Chantal Blaak (NED) - Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team 17.33
4 Annemiek van Vleuten (NED) - ORICA-AIS 18.72
5 Roxane Knetemann (NED) - RaboLIV Women Cycling Team 20.4
6 Anna van der Breggen (NED) - RaboLIV Women Cycling Team 23.33
7 Tayler Wiles (USA) - ORICA-AIS 51.21
8 Katrin Garfoot (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 54.33
9 Katarzyna Pawloswska (POL) - Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team 01:03.5
10 Leah Kirchmann (CAN) - Team Liv-Plantur 01:06.1
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Annemiek van Vleuten (NED) - ORICA-AIS 18.72
7 Tayler Wiles (USA) - ORICA-AIS 51.21
8 Katrin Garfoot (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 54.33