Bretagne Classic - Ouest-France - Race Overview

Slovenian national road race champion Luka Mezgec made it over the climbs and survived the war of attrition to contest the sprint for ORICA-SCOTT at the Bretagne-Classic Ouest France today taking 15th place in a crowded finale.

A long 240kilometre race that traditionally sees an early move gain time until the final third played out no differently today with the initial breakaway about to be reeled in with 60kilometres to go

That’s when the attacks started to spring and the action came to the fore, cat and mouse, reel and catch characterised the closing 40kilometres with attack after attack brought back until the final ascent when the bunch started to split heavily.

ORICA-SCOTT were positioned well and maintained their speed in the chase as finally the front of the race became one with only three kilometres to go.

A chaotic sprint unfolded with Mezgec boxed in on the left hand side and no clear run to the line as Elia Viviani (Team-Sky) took the win.

“We came into the race with a solid plan and tried our best to execute it,” said sport director Laurenzo Lapage. “We missed one of the later moves as the break was about to be caught and that meant that we had to use energy and riders in the chase that initially we wanted to save for the final to be there for Luka and Daryl Impey.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Elia Viviani (ITA) - Team Sky 5:51:39
2 Alexander Kristoff (NOR) - Katusha-Alpecin
3 Sonny Colbrelli (ITA) - Bahrain-Merida
4 Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) - Cannondale-Drapac
5 Michael Matthews (AUS) - Team Sunweb
6 Rúben Guerreiro (POR) - Trek-Segafredo
7 Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) - Dimension Data
8 Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits
9 Simone Consonni (ITA) - UAE Team Emirates
10 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
15 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - ORICA-SCOTT 5:51:39
28 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-SCOTT 5:51:39
95 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:03:43
100 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:04:06
109 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:07:49