Vuelta a España
Stage 17: Ortigueira - A Coruña - Stage Details

Multiple grand tour stage winner Michael Matthews has sprinted to second on stage 17 of the Vuelta a Espana this afternoon.

Matthews, who won stage three earlier in the Vuelta, made a final dash for the line but was unable to close the distance from the behind the wheel of John Degenkolb (GIA) who took out his fourth victory for the tour.

“I played my cards on following Degenkolb,” Matthews said after the finish.

“In the end it was the right move to follow him because he obviously won the race.”  

Read the full stage 17 report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 John Degenkolb (GER) - Team Giant-Shimano 4:26:07
2 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
3 Fabian Cancellara (SWI) - Trek Factory Racing ST
4 Jasper Stuyven (BEL) - Trek Factory Racing ST
5 Roberto Ferrari (ITA) - Lampre-Merida ST
6 Koldo Fernandez (SPA) - Garmin Sharp ST
7 Geoffrey Soupe (FRA) - ST
8 Danilo Wyss (SWI) - BMC Racing Team ST
9 Damiano Caruso (ITA) - Cannondale ST
10 Vicente Reynes Mimo (SPA) - IAM Cycling ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
70 Jhoan Esteban Chaves Rubio (COL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:22
85 Simon Clarke (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:33
134 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:37
166 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:11
167 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:11
168 Cameron Meyer (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:11