Vuelta a España
Stage 19: Salvaterra do Miño - Cangas do Morrazo - Stage Details

Multiple grand tour stage winner Michael Matthews has sprinted to fifth on stage 19 of the Vuelta a Espana this afternoon. 

Matthews, who won stage three of this year’s tour, finished amongst a select front group five seconds behind late solo escapee Australian Adam Hansen (LTB).

Today’s stage was the last opportunity for the team to support the 23-year-old in a second stage win attempt.

“The boys did a decent job, everyone was where they had to be,” sport director Neil Stephens said of the team’s efforts.

“But Adam Hansen was bloody great, he got off the front and as soon as he went we knew it was going to be difficult to bring it back.  Adam Yates tried, he had to be there for the final and he was, but it was really very difficult to do anything about it.

Read the full stage 19 report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Adam Hansen (AUS) - Lotto Belisol 4:21:58
2 John Degenkolb (GER) - Team Giant-Shimano 0:00:05
3 Filippo Pozzato (ITA) - Lampre-Merida ST
4 Yannick Martinez (FRA) - Team Europcar ST
5 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
6 Geoffrey Soupe (FRA) - ST
7 Paul Martens (GER) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
8 Jasper Stuyven (BEL) - Trek Factory Racing ST
9 Romain Hardy (FRA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits ST
10 Damiano Caruso (ITA) - Cannondale ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
5 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
57 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:11
61 Simon Clarke (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:18
100 Jhoan Esteban Chaves Rubio (COL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:40
139 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:13:35
150 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:13:35