Vuelta a España
Stage 20: Santo Estevo de Ribas de Sil - Puerto de Ancares - Stage Details

Towards the end of an intense three weeks of racing, ORICA-GreenEDGE focused on a survival for the penultimate day and final road stage of the Vuelta a Espana today.

A tough day in the mountains, stage 20 was always going to be dominated by the general classification teams in a final battle for overall victory. In the end, Alberto Contador prevailed and all but wrapped up the 2014 Vuelta a Espana.

For ORICA-GreenEDGE, countless kilometres pulling on the front of the peloton in pursuit of stage wins and the first experience of general classification protection over the first two weeks left little in the tank for the demanding 185.7km journey.

2012 Vuelta stage and king of the mountain winner Simon Clarke was the team’s top finisher in 44th position.

“The reality is that I have been pretty demanding on the boys everyday trying to set them goals,” sport director Neil Stephens said.

Read the full stage 20 report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Alberto Contador Velasco (SPA) - Tinkoff-Saxo 5:11:43
2 Christopher Froome (GBR) - Team Sky 0:00:16
3 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (SPA) - Movistar Team 0:00:57
4 Joaquím Rodríguez Oliver (SPA) - Team Katusha 0:01:18
5 Fabio Aru (ITA) - Astana Pro Team 0:01:21
6 Warren Barguil (FRA) - Team Giant-Shimano 0:02:51
7 Giampaolo Caruso (ITA) - Team Katusha 0:02:55
8 Samuel Sánchez Gonzalez (SPA) - BMC Racing Team 0:02:58
9 Daniel Navarro Garcia (SPA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:03:15
10 Damiano Caruso (ITA) - Cannondale 0:03:20
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
44 Simon Clarke (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:15:16
86 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:26:51
97 Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (COL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:28:17
111 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:28:17
113 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:28:17
120 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:30:23