Vuelta a España
Stage 5: Priego de Córdoba - Ronda - Stage Details

Michael Matthews has retained the red race leader’s jersey at the Vuelta a Espana, finishing in the front group on stage five today.

Despite cross winds playing havoc with the peloton mid-stage, Matthews remained at the head of the race over the category three climb but suffered from the previous day’s efforts in the final sprint, managing 11th position.  Giant-Shimano’s John Degenkolb won his second consecutive stage.

“It was a difficult day all round,” the 24-year-old said.

“I didn’t expect the cross winds to come like that so the team did a really good job to get me onto the bunch at the bottom of that climb but from then on I was totally pinned.

Read the full stage 5 report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 John Degenkolb (GER) - Team Giant-Shimano 4:41:47
2 Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) - ST
3 Moreno Hofland (NED) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
4 Jasper Stuyven (BEL) - Trek Factory Racing ST
5 Paul Martens (GER) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
6 Lloyd Mondory (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
7 Philippe Gilbert (BEL) - BMC Racing Team ST
8 Vicente Reynes Mimo (SPA) - IAM Cycling ST
9 Kristian Sbaragli (ITA) - MTN - Qhubeka ST
10 Roberto Ferrari (ITA) - Lampre-Merida ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
11 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
36 Jhoan Esteban Chaves Rubio (COL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:05
124 Simon Clarke (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:11:27
152 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:13:32
156 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:13:32
166 Brett Lancaster (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:13:32
169 Ivan Santaromita (ITA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:13:32
194 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:13:43
197 Cameron Meyer (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:13:43