Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race - Men - Race Overview

2014 Jayco Herald Sun Tour champion Simon Clarke has sprinted to second place at the inaugural Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race in Geelong this afternoon.

The ‘European Classics’ like course promised surprises and it well and truly delivered, as an enthralling battle unfolded to see out an Australian cycling champion in Evans.

Clarke survived the early war of attrition and positioned himself in an elite front group of riders at the business end of the race.  Eventually a select assembly, made up of less than ten riders, contested the final sprint with Gianni Meersman (Etixx-Quickstep) reigning supreme.

“It was a bloody hard day,” Clarke said post-race. “We always knew that the conditions were going to have a big effect on the race but throwing the rain in there with the wind, there was no hiding or holding back.”

Read the full race report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Gianni Meersman (BEL) - Extixx - Quick Step 4:15:22
2 Simon Clarke (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
3 Nathan Haas (AUS) - Team Cannondale-Garmin ST
4 Luke Rowe (GBR) - Team Sky ST
5 Cadel Evans (AUS) - BMC Racing Team ST
6 Giampaolo Caruso (ITA) - Team Katusha ST
7 Moreno Moser (ITA) - Team Cannondale-Garmin ST
8 Danilo Wyss (SUI) - BMC Racing Team ST
9 Pete Kennaugh (GBR) - Team Sky 0:00:07
10 Heinrich Haussler (AUS) - IAM Cycling 0:00:09
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Simon Clarke (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
29 Cameron Meyer (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:09
52 Damien Howson (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:04