Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec - Race Overview

Liège-Bastogne-Liège champion Simon Gerrans has become the first rider to win two editions of the Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec with a well-timed victory this afternoon.

Fittingly, the victory marks the 100th win for ORICA-GreenEDGE since the team began in 2012, Gerrans also posting the very first result at the Australian championships in the team’s debut season.

All did not go to plan for the 34-year-old, a mechanical with just 20km to go threatened his ambitions, but with the support of a fully committed ORICA-GreenEDGE outfit the Australian champion was able to recover back to the bunch.

“It was a very stressful last 20km,” Gerrans said.

“With a mechanical problem with just over 20km to go I actually thought my day was over."

Read the full report here

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 4:42:54
2 Tom Dumoulin (NED) - Giant-Shimano ST
3 Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU) - Garmin-Sharp ST
4 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
5 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing ST
6 Gianni Meersman (BEL) - Omega Pharma-QuickStep ST
7 Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) - Belkin Pro Cycling ST
8 Enrico Gasparotto (ITA) - Astana Pro Team ST
9 Tony Gallopin (FRA) - Lotto-Belisol ST
10 Bauke Mollema (NED) - Belkin Pro Cycling ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 4:42:54
4 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
22 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:07
50 Pieter Weening (NED) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:41
71 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:52
97 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:15
111 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:10