Circuit Cycliste Sarthe
Stage 1: Fontenay-le-Comte - Ligné - Stage Details

It was a less than stellar start to Circuit Cycliste Sarthe for ORICA-GreenEDGE as four of the team’s six riders hit the deck inside the final two kilometres. Defending champion Luke Durbridge, Aidis Kruopis and Michael Hepburn escaped relatively unscathed while Sam Bewley bore the brunt of the damage and was taken to hospital where x-rays confirmed he had broken his collarbone. Because the crash occurred after three kilometres to go, Durbridge, Kruopis and Hepburn were awarded bunch time, keeping all three riders in contention for the overall.

“Today would have been a good opportunity for Aidis. We were setting him up for the sprint when the crash happened. We missed that chance today, but other than that, what happened doesn’t change much. Our ambitions are still the same. We’re all still on bunch time, and that’s important for us ahead of the time trial tomorrow afternoon.” - Michael Hepburn


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Matteo Pelucchi (Ita) - IAM Cycling 4:39:51
2 Sacha Modolo (Ita) - Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox ST
3 Bryan Coquard (Fra) - Team Europcar ST
4 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) - FDJ ST
5 Aexey Tsatevich (Rus) - Katusha ST
6 Steele Von Hoff (Aus) - Garmin-Sharp ST
7 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) - RadioShack Leopard ST
8 Scott Thwaites (GBr) - Team Netapp-Endura ST
9 Leonardo Fabio Duque (Col) - Colombia ST
10 Benoît Drujon (Fra) - BigMat-Auber 93 ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
21 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
47 Svein Tuft (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
84 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
94 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
95 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
103 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:53