Circuito de Getxo - Race Overview

Fresh from his win in Prueba Villafranca-Ordiziako Klasika this week and yesterday's top ten finish in San Sebastian, Simon Yates continued his string of solid performances to finish second in today's one-day race, Circuito de Getxo.

Previously the race finished at the base of the 700metre ascent that the riders tackle on each of the ten laps. However this year, in the 71st edition of the race, it transformed into a battle between the climbers with a hill top finish. 

ORICA-BikeExchange were well represented throughout the race with sprint star Caleb Ewan in an early move, followed by Yates and Amets Txurruka eventually joining the day's winning breakaway group which established in the final three laps of the race.

Yates challenged for the victory pushing all the way to the line with Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida), but in the final metres Ulissi proved too strong, edging out the British rider to claim the victory. 

"We are really happy with the result," explained sport director Dave McPartland. "Tactically the team did everything well and in the end Simon was beaten in the sprint, but coming straight from the race yesterday we have to be pleased with this."

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Diego Ulissi (ITA) - Lampre-Merida 3:58:44
2 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01
3 Jose Herrada (SPA) - Movistar Team 0:01
4 Angel Madrazo (SPA) - Caja Rural - Seguros RGA 0:05
5 Pello Bilbao (SPA) - Caja Rural - Seguros RGA 0:05
6 Pablo Torres (SPA) - Burgos-BH 0:05
7 Marc Soler (SPA) - Movistar Team 0:08
8 Alex Aranburu (SPA) - Euskadi Basque Country - Murias 0:08
9 Marco Zamparella (ITA) - Amore & Vita - Selle SMP 0:12
10 Antonio Pedrero (SPA) - Movistar Team 0:13
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01
14 Amets Txurruka (SPA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:40
29 Jack Haig (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 10:30
44 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - ORICA-BikeExchange 11:17