Clasica de Almeria - Race Overview

Magnus Cort continued his spectacular form on Spanish soil today, sprinting to an impressive victory for ORICA-SCOTT in the 32nd Clasica de Almeria.

A perfectly executed finale saw the Australian outfit control the race through the finishing circuits. First with Sam Bewley and Chris Juul Jensen, then 2016 Paris Roubaix champion Mathew Hayman and Luka Mezgec provided a textbook lead out for Cort to sprint to his second victory of the season.

“It is a really great feeling to win again,” said Cort. “It was a long race and the team were fantastic in the finale, I couldn’t have asked for a better lead out and I am really happy that I could finish it off.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 4:31:22
2 Rüdiger Selig (GER) - Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Jens Debusschere (BEL) - Lotto Soudal
4 Carlos Barbero Cuesta (SPA) - Movistar Team
5 Amaury Capiot (BEL) - Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise
6 Baptiste Planckaert (BEL) - Katusha-Alpecin
7 Maciej Paterski (POL) - CCC Sprandi Polkowice
8 Daniel Lopez Parada (SPA) - Burgos-BH
9 Raymond Kreder (NED) - Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij
10 Jonas Van Genechten (BEL) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 4:31:22
28 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - ORICA-SCOTT 4:31:22
44 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:46
80 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:18
96 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:18
100 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:02:49