Criterium de Dauphine
Stage 2: Le Bourget-du-Lac to Parc des Oiseaux Villars-les-Dombes - Stage Details

Today proved to be the best day for the sprinters, and the second stage of the Critérium du Dauphiné ended in an inevitable mass sprint.

Belgian Jens Keukeleirewas ORICA-GreenEDGE’s fastest rider of the day and finished seventh in the bunch behind stage winner Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis).

A group of three riders took off early in the stage and managed to stay away until well into the final four kilometres. At the height of their escape, the gap got up to six and a half minutes. The sprinters teams really quickened the pace in the final 20 kilometres not only to catch the escapees, but also to keep their leaders safe and to prepare for the bunch sprint. Which made for a very hectic and fast finale.

The final three kilometres took the riders in a straight line towards the finish. ORICA-GreenEDGE came to the front in the final two kilometres to set themselves up for a sprint and positioned Jens Keukeleire as well as possible.

Sports director Laurenzo Lapage: “We did what we had to do today, so in that respect we had a good day. We didn’t take our top sprinters to this race, so we knew there was a possibility we might not win this stage. But we’re definitely content."

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits 4:23:46
2 Samuel Dumoulin (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
3 Sacha Modolo (ITA) - Lampre-Merida ST
4 Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) - MTN - Qhubeka ST
5 Aleksei Tsatevich (RUS) - Team Katusha ST
6 Jonas Vangenechten (BEL) - IAM Cycling ST
7 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
8 Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU) - Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team ST
9 Yannick Martinez (FRA) - Team Europcar ST
10 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - Team Giant-Alpecin ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
7 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
33 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
39 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
51 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
105 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
127 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:24
146 Ivan Santaromita (ITA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:10
155 Damien Howson (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:10