Critérium du Dauphiné
Stage 2: Châtel - Oyonnax - Stage Details

Wesley Sulzberger mixed it up with the sprinters on the second stage of the Criterium du Dauphiné. Rounding out the top ten, Sulzberger was the best placed rider for ORICA-GreenEDGE in a reduced bunch sprint that saw Elia Viviani (Cannondale) outkick Gianni Meersman (Omega Pharma-Quick-Step) for the stage win.

Race leader David Veilleux (Europcar) finished in the front group to retain the yellow leader’s jersey in Oyonnax. His team controlled the lumpy day that saw a four rider break go clear and gain just under five minutes in the first hour of racing. During the second half of the stage, Omega Pharma-QuickStep and Cannondale lent their efforts to the chase.

As the break fragmented and the advantage to the last man standing tumbled, several riders launched solo attacks. Juan Antonio Flecha (Vacansoleil-DCM), Rudy Molard (Cofidis), Rein Taaramae (Cofidis) and Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma-Quick-Step) all opened up gaps in the closing kilometres of the stage. The peloton swept up Taaramae with two kilometres left to race and prepared for the sprint.

"We were really hoping to get Michael Matthews over the last climb with the front group. He’s our fastest guy in a finish like we saw today. Simon Gerrans was our Plan B. Unfortunately, Michael got dropped just before the top of the climb, and he didn’t manage to get back on before the finish. Gerro had another off day, losing contact with the bunch on the second to last climb. This left guys like Clarkey [Simon Clarke] and Wes [Sulzberger] with the opportunity to do something in the finish." - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Elia Viviani (Ita) - Cannondale Pro Cycling 4:39:15
2 Gianni Meersman (Bel) - Omega Pharma-Quick Step ST
3 Tony Gallopin (Fra) - RadioShack Leopard ST
4 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) - Team Argos-Shimano ST
5 Anthony Geslin (Fra) - FDJ ST
6 Armindo Fonseca (Fra) - Bretagne-Seche Environnement ST
7 Bram Tankink (Ned) - Blanco Pro Cycling Team ST
8 Warren Barguil (Fra) - Team Argos-Shimano ST
9 Juan Antonio Flecha Giannoni (Spa) - Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team ST
10 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
10 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
35 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
80 Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:07
81 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
95 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:50
119 Travis Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:13
129 Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:31
173 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:14:21