Critérium du Dauphiné
Stage 6: La Léchère - Grenoble - Stage Details

Wesley Sulzberger was part of a 54 rider group that finished 46” behind a break of four riders on the sixth stage of  Critérium du Dauphiné. Fourth in the field sprint, Sulzberger was eighth on the stage. It is the second top ten finish for Sulzberger over six days of French racing.

Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) took top honours in Grenbole. The Frenchman outsprinted José Herrada (Movistar) and Kevin Seeldraeyers (Astana) to win his home country. Voeckler was part of an eight-man group that formed over the category one Col du Barioz at the mid-point of the stage.

Although the group never succeeded in opening a large lead, they managed to hold off the peloton. The breakaway splintered inside the final 30 kilometres. Voeckler and company collaborated to maintain their advantage over the Omega Pharma-QuickStep and BMC led field.

The rolling terrain inside the last hour of racing proved more challenging than expected for many of the sprinters in the bunch. Michael Matthews was one of the many fast finishers that found himself distanced from the field during the final 30 kilometres.

"Wes has been solid all week. We planned to fully support Michael Matthews, but Wes made the most of an opportunity he saw today. Michael was dropped on one of the small climbs at the end, and eventually only Wes and Gerro [Simon Gerrans] were left in the main chase group. Gerro did a bit of a lead out to see if he could help Wes get up in the top five." - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) - Team Europcar 3:24:13
2 José Herrada Lopez (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
3 Kevin Seeldraeyers (Bel) - Astana Pro Team ST
4 Egor Silin (Rus) - Astana Pro Team ST
5 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) - Sky Procycling 0:00:46
6 Gianni Meersman (Bel) - Omega Pharma-Quick Step ST
7 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) - Astana Pro Team ST
8 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
9 Arnaud Gerard (Fra) - Bretagne-Seche Environnement ST
10 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) - Omega Pharma-Quick Step ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
8 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
25 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
76 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:34
93 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:46
94 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
98 Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
136 Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:15:51
156 Travis Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST