Critérium du Dauphiné
Stage 7: Le-Pont-de-Claix - Superdévoluy - Stage Details

Travis Meyer spent his 24th birthday in the breakaway on the queen stage of the Critérium du Dauphiné. Part of a 22 rider move that formed in the opening hour of racing, Meyer worked with his breakmates to build up a maximum advantage of 5’40 over the Col d’Ornon.

Teams Sky and Garmin-Sharp did the bulk of the late chase work that saw the break’s advantage quickly tumble during the final two hours of racing. Forty kilometres from the finish, Meyer and Jurgen Van den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol) enjoyed a slim advantage over the escape group. When the front group came back together, Meyer attacked again.

Although the attacks made for an animated finale, the peloton overtook the break as it shattered inside the last 25 kilometres. Meyer was back in the bunch 21 kilometres from the finish. Nine kilometres later, Alessandro De Marchi (Cannondale), the last man standing, rejoined the field.

Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel Euskadi) beat Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) to the finish line on final ascent to the ski resort of Superdécoluy. The duo were 15” faster than Richie Porte (Sky) who finished with a 1” advantage over a group of six that included race leader Chris Froome (Sky).

Sport Director Matt Wilson answered your questions about stage seven. Read what he had to say about the hilly day of racing below.

"We definitely wanted to have a rider in the break. We had no one for this type of finish; no specialists for the climbing stages. Anyone on the team had the opportunity to get in the break and see what they could do. Travis Meyer was the one who managed to get up the road." - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) - Euskaltel-Euskadi 5:26:14
2 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) - Astana Pro Team ST
3 Richie Porte (Aus) - Sky Procycling 0:00:15
4 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) - Katusha 0:00:16
5 Stef Clement (Ned) - Blanco Pro Cycling Team ST
6 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
7 Christopher Froome (GBr) - Sky Procycling ST
8 Daniel Navarro Garcia (Spa) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits ST
9 Michael Rogers (Aus) - Team Saxo-Tinkoff ST
10 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) - Team Saxo-Tinkoff 0:00:23
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
36 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:49
53 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:58
64 Travis Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:14:12
76 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:16:06
102 Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
106 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:17:55
122 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:19:45