Cyclassics Hamburg - Race Overview

22-year-old Australian sprinter Caleb Ewan took the win for ORICA-BikeExchange in a wet and crash-heavy Cyclassics Hamburg in Germany today.

The day’s breakaway came close to causing an upset before being caught inside the final kilometre. Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis) initially won the race before being disqualified for deviating from his line.

Three crashes in the last 40kilometres split the field with Ewan getting tangled and needing a bike change.

ORICA-BikeExchange executed the change and the chase to perfection with Ewan taking his first European race victory of 2016 after a hard fought sprint.

“I’m really happy with the victory,” said Ewan. “It was a very fast and tough sprint, I had to deviate from my line a bit and it’s always difficult to try and regain momentum after that.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 4:54:27
2 John Degenkolb (GER) - Team Giant-Alpecin ST
3 Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo ST
4 Danny Van Poppel (NED) - Team Sky ST
5 Alexander Kristoff (NOR) - Team Katusha ST
6 Dylan Groenewegen (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo ST
7 Mark Renshaw (AUS) - Dimension Data ST
8 Sondre Holst Enger (NOR) - IAM Cycling ST
9 Matteo Trentin (ITA) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
10 André Greipel (GER) - Lotto Soudal ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 4:54:27
79 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - ORICA-BikeExchange 1:17
84 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-BikeExchange 2:36
85 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 2:36
111 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 3:07
137 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 7:13