Critérium du Dauphiné
Stage 1: Lyon - Lyon ITT - Stage Details

Chris Froome (Team Sky) won the opening stage time trial at the Critérium du Daphiné. The defending champion stopped the clock at 13’13 over the 10.4 kilometre course. Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) slotted into second place with a time of 13’21 while Bob Jungels (Trek Factory Racing) spent most of the day in the hot seat before ultimately rounding out the stage podium.

Daryl Impey was the best-placed rider for ORICA-GreenEDGE. The South African National Time Trial Champion posted a time of 13’30, which proved good for 22nd place. U23 Time Trial World Champion Damien Howson finished a few seconds behind Impey at 22” in 26th place.

"With a first stage time trial, everyone typically goes out there with the intent of doing their best ride. It’s always a good opener and an opportunity to gauge fitness. We had no specific goals going in, and no one was just cruising through the stage. For guys like Daryl Impey and Damien Howson, who tend to focus more on the time trial, there’s always a bit of extra pressure. All the guys had put in pretty decent rides, and the results showed that." - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Christopher Froome (GBr) - Team Sky 0:13:14
2 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) - Team Tinkoff-Saxo 0:00:08
3 Bob Jungels (Lux) - Trek Factory Racing 0:00:09
4 Andrew Talansky (USA) - Garmin-Sharp 0:00:11
5 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
6 Lars Boom (Ned) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team 0:00:12
7 Vasil Kiryienka (Blr) - Team Sky ST
8 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) - Astana Pro Team 0:00:13
9 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) - BMC Racing Team ST
10 Matthias Brandle (Aut) - IAM Cycling ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
22 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:17
26 Damien Howson (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:21
44 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:30
56 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:36
64 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:39
73 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:42
84 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:45
101 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:53