Critérium du Dauphiné
Stage 6: Grenoble - Poisy - Stage Details

The winner of the sixth stage of the Critérium du Dauphiné emerged from the early escape group from the third consecutive day of the French tour. Jan Bakelants (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) outkicked Lieuwe Westra (Astana) to the finish line in Posiy to snare his first victory of the season. The duo broke away from a large breakaway with Pim Ligthart (Lotto-Belisol), dropping the Dutchman before the finish.

Jens Keukeleire represented ORICA-GreenEDGE in the 16 rider breakaway. The move took nearly an hour to establish with several early attempts shut down by the peloton. The group gained a maximum advantage of four minutes as Team Sky rode on the front to kept the break’s gap at a manageable distance

Keukeleire had anticipated several attacks to come from the breakaway in the finale and thought best of bidding his time before covering moves. He was surprised that the first attack from Ligthart on the penultimate climb proved decisive. Westra and Bakelants were able to bridge across to Ligthart. Keuekeleire settled into the first chase group, which overtook Ligthart, the man that sparked the race winning move, the run-in to the finish and sprinted for third place. Keukeleire managed third from his group for fifth place on the stage.

Adam Yates started and finished the stage in ninth place overall, 1’24 behind Froome. He enjoyed strong support from his teammates who kept him well-placed at the front of the peloton in the technical finale. When Froome crashed inside the final ten kilometres, the group slowed while the yellow jersey changed bikes and chased back onto the bunch.

"Our plan today was for Impey. We had wanted to keep things together for him in the sprint. With that said, we also were very well aware that it would be hard to do that. There weren’t many other teams that would want to chase, and many would be happy with a breakaway. We realised that we lacked allies in bringing back moves, so it was a gamble to put our eggs into Impey’s basket. Knowing that, we also had a plan in place to cover the early moves. Jens Keukeleire was one of the guys with that responsibility today. In doing his job, he found himself in the day’s break. Because the move was so big and most of the teams were represented, we were pretty certain the break would stay away – which meant we decided not to chase. It would have been a big ask for one team to bring back a break like that." - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Jan Bakelants (Bel) - Omega Pharma Quick Step Cycling Team 4:07:20
2 Lieuwe Westra (Ned) - Astana Pro Team ST
3 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) - Omega Pharma Quick Step Cycling Team 0:00:24
4 Pim Ligthart (Ned) - Lotto-Belisol ST
5 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
6 Jens Voigt (Ger) - Trek Factory Racing ST
7 Maciej Bodnar (Pol) - Cannondale ST
8 Bram Tankink (Ned) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
9 Valerio Conti (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
10 Julien Simon (Fra) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits. ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
5 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
30 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:55
61 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:55
62 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
85 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:37
88 Damien Howson (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:51
101 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:54
148 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:15:29