De Brabanste Pijl - Race Overview

Dual South African national champion Daryl Impey finished strongly at the 58thedition of the hilly semi-classic De Brabanste Pijl in Belgium today after a solid team performance from Mitchelton-SCOTT.

A grinding race contested over some 27climbs saw the peloton happy to let the breakaway go early before the attacks started in earnest with Tour of Poland stage winner Jack Haig the spark for Mitchelton-SCOTT ahead of a tough finale.

Ever present at the sharp end of the race the Australian outfit looked to shake things up with Haig, but the 24-year-old was caught on the last lap before Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal) jumped clear for what proved to be the race wining move.

Pais Vasco king of the mountains Carlos Verona mounted a strong pursuit behind the Belgian, leading the chasers on to the final climb with Impey finishing in tenth and Verona in 14th.

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Tim Wellens (BEL) - Lotto Soudal 04:42:48
2 Sonny Colbrelli (ITA) - Bahrain-Merida 00:00:09
3 Tiesj Benoot (BEL) - Lotto Soudal
4 Pieter Serry (BEL) - Quick-Step Floors
5 Jan Tratnik (SLO) - CCC Sprandi Polkowice
6 Andrea Pasqualon (ITA) - Wanty-Groupe Gobert
7 Dylan Teuns (BEL) - BMC Racing Team
8 Huub Duijn (NED) - Veranda's Willems Crelan 00:00:12
9 Thomas Sprengers (BEL) - Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise 00:00:14
10 Daryl Impey (RSA) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:00:14
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
10 Daryl Impey (RSA) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:00:14
14 Carlos Verona (SPA) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:00:14
29 Rob Power (AUS) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:00:36
57 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:01:25
77 Jack Haig (AUS) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:04:35