De Brabantse Pijl - La Flèche Brabançonne - Race Overview

Danish strong man Chris Juul Jensen picked up where he left off for ORICA-SCOTT today, claiming a strong sixth place at the 57th De Brabantse Pijl.

An early breakaway of five riders skipped clear out of the neutral zone and held on until well into the second half of the race before being swallowed up by an elite group of thirteen that included Juul Jensen.

The group worked well together and held an advantage of around 30seconds throughout the closing 50kilometres. The race included twenty-six sharp climbs and the combination of fast descents and collaboration on the flats saw the leaders maintaining a slim gap into the finale.

Juul Jensen looked strong and lead the group over the final climb as late attacks started to come from the chasing bunch, pushing a huge gear the 27-year-old Dane fought hard as the sprint unfolded with Sonny Colbelli (Bahrain-Merida) taking the win.

“It was a really strong ride from Chris today,” said sport director Laurenzo Lapage. “After a getting a knock in De Panne a couple of weeks ago he has come back very strong and hungry to perform.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Sonny Colbrelli (ITA) - Bahrain-Merida 4:44:22
2 Petr Vakoc (CZE) - Quick-Step Floors
3 Tiesj Benoot (BEL) - Lotto Soudal
4 Tim Wellens (BEL) - Lotto Soudal
5 Bert-Jan Lindeman (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo
6 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 4:44:22
7 Dries Devenyns (BEL) - Quick-Step Floors
8 Silvan Dillier (SWI) - BMC Racing Team
9 Victor Campenaerts (BEL) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:00:06
10 Laurens De Plus (BEL) - Quick-Step Floors
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
6 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 4:44:22
27 Jack Haig (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:16
49 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:31
52 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:41
61 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:46