Duo Normand - Race Overview

Former Australian time-trial champion Luke Durbridge and former Canadian time-trial champion Svein Tuft powered to victory today in the 54.5kilometre two-man time trial event, Duo Normand. 

The pair have won the event twice before with their last appearance in 2013 when they successfully broke the long-standing record with a time of one hour four minutes and ten seconds. The previous record was set by Jens Voigt and Chris Boardman back in 1999. 

Having not competed in the event for the previous two years, the duo headed back to France this year motivated to achieve another victory, successfully doing so with a time just two seconds shy of their 2013 record. 

Sport director Matt White was pleased with the victory and their form despite the challenging windy conditions.

“The boys just missed their own record by just two seconds but it was blowing a gale today,” explained White. The great thing today was Durbridge was 30watts higher than when they broke the record in 2013.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 ORICA-BikeExchange 1:04:12
2 Team Almeborg-Bornholm 1:31
3 FDJ 1:47
4 Team Wiggins 2:23
5 Australia 2:28
6 Team Joke Byggtorget 2:35
7 Cavagna/Ermenault 2:44
8 Fortuneo-Vital Concept 2:47
9 Veranda's Willems Cycling Team 3:56
10 Veranda's Willems Cycling Team 4:12
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 ORICA-BikeExchange 1:04:12