Dwars door de Westhoek - Race Overview

Santos Women's Tour winner Katrin Garfoot  sprinted to fourth place in today's UCI 1.1 category race Dwars door de Westhoek. 

The 34-year-old found herself in the race winning move which formed in the final 20kilometres of the 127.5kilometre race.

Trying hard to get away solo attack in the final kilometres, the Australian time trail champion was unable to establish a gap in a race that ended in an inevitable group dash for the line.

The breakaway group of nine sprinted across the cobbles with Christine Majerus (Boels-Dolmans) proving to be the fastest taking the race honours.

"I had some pretty hard moments today," explained Garfoot after the race. "I had a hard chase back on after a mechanical, so I am pretty glad to actually finish that well today."

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Christine Majerus (LUX) - Boel-Dolmans Cycling Team 3:24:38
2 Elena Cecchini (ITA) - Canyon SRAM Racing ST
3 Emme Johannson (SWE) - Wiggle High5 ST
4 Katrin Garfoot (AUS) - ORICA-AIS ST
5 Anna Van der Breggen (NED) - Rabobank-Liv Woman Cycling Team ST
6 Demi De Jong (NED) - Boel-Dolmans Cycling Team ST
7 Thalita De Jong (NED) - Rabobank-Liv Woman Cycling Team ST
8 Alexis Ryan (USA) - Canyon SRAM Racing 0:16
9 Marianne Vos (NED) - Rabobank-Liv Woman Cycling Team 0:16
10 Maria Giulia Confalonieri (ITA) - Lensworld - Zannata 2:28
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Katrin Garfoot (AUS) - ORICA-AIS ST
15 Loren Rowney (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 3:05
25 Tayler Wiles (USA) - ORICA-AIS 3:05
35 Sarah Roy (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 7:09
70 Lizzie Williams (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 7:09
73 Alexandra Manly (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 7:09