Dwars door Vlaanderen - Race Overview

ORICA-GreenEDGE’s Jens Keukeleire snagged his third straight top ten finish at Dwars door Vlaanderen. The Belgian rounded out the top ten two years ago and sprinted to seventh from an elite group of ten last year. Keukeleire followed up with ninth today, eighth in the bunch kick, 16” after Niki Terpstra (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) soloed to victory in Waregem.

Keukeleire was part an elite group of 54 riders that formed over the cobbles and bergs in the animated second half of the one day Flemish classic. Mathew Hayman and Mitch Docker joined Keukeleire in the main group of chasers as various combinations of riders tested their luck and skill off the front.

“Mitch and Mat did a great job to lead out Jens. I think he had a done a little too much over the day, and he sort of went backwards once he had opened his sprint. This was the most active I have ever seen the team in a Belgian classic. We were present in the race from start to finish. That’s a huge positive to come out of today. With the form we saw from Keukeleire, Docker and Hayman, we have a lot to look forward to on Friday and Sunday.” - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Niki Terpstra (Ned) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 4:31:43
2 Tyler Farrar (USA) - Garmin Sharp 0:00:17
3 Borut Bozic (Slo) - Astana Pro Team ST
4 Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) - Wanty - Groupe Gobert ST
5 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) - IAM Cycling ST
6 Jens Debusschere (Bel) - Lotto Belisol ST
7 Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) - Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise ST
8 Oscar Gatto (Ita) - Cannondale ST
9 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
10 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
9 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
25 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
55 Mathew Hayman (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:28
78 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:38