E3 Harelbeke - Race Overview

European champion Matteo Trentin today sprinted to seventh-place in the one-day E3 BinckBank Classic from a select chase group on the road after a winning move with five riders contested the victory.

Trentin was consistent throughout the day riding at the front of the race and making the main elite section over the Paterberg, until an attack from Van Avermaet on the final climb of the day proved just a little too much and the Italian found himself in the second group on the road coming into the finish.

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Zdenek Stybar (CZE) - Deceuninck-QuickStep 4:46:05
2 Wout Van Aert (BEL) - Team Jumbo-Visma
3 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - CCC Team
4 Alberto Bettiol (ITA) - EF Education First
5 Bob Jungels (LUX) - Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:00:03
6 Nils Politt (GER) - Katusha-Alpecin 0:01:04
7 Matteo Trentin (ITA) - Mitchelton-SCOTT 0:01:04
8 Oliver Naesen (BEL) - AG2R La Mondiale
9 Jasha Sütterlin (GER) - Movistar Team
10 Marc Hirschi (SWI) - Team Sunweb
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
7 Matteo Trentin (ITA) - Mitchelton-SCOTT 0:01:04
50 Jack Bauer (NZL) - Mitchelton-SCOTT 0:02:49
57 Christopher Juul Jensen (Den) - Mitchelton-SCOTT
94 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - Mitchelton-SCOTT 0:10:39