E3 Harelbeke - Race Overview

Belgian Jens Keukeleire and former Australian champion Luke Durbridge were the best placed finishers on a difficult day of racing at E3 Harelbeke for ORICA-GreenEDGE.

Keukeleire and Durbridge finished 29th and 37th respectively, as both ORICA-GreenEDGE riders came home in the second group of chasers that had formed when the race split on the final climbs of the day. Sam Bewley was unfortunate to crash after the halfway point and needed a bike change but thankfully was not seriously injured.

The race was won by Michael Kwiatkowski (Team-Sky) after attacks by Fabian Cancellara (Trek-Segafredo) and then Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) proved to be the key moments of the race.

“We got caught out of position when the attacks came on the Taaienberg,” said sports director Laurenzo Lapage. “It is so important in these races to get into the right positions going into the final climbs.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Michal Kwiatkowski (POL) - Team Sky 4:49:34
2 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Tinkoff Team 0:00:04
3 Ian Stannard (GBR) - Team Sky 0:00:11
4 Fabian Cancellara (SWI) - Trek-Segafredo 0:00:11
5 Jasper Stuyven (BEL) - Trek-Segafredo 0:00:11
6 Lars Boom (NED) - Astana Pro Team 0:00:11
7 Tiesj Benoot (BEL) - Lotto Soudal 0:00:11
8 Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:00:11
9 Jean-Pierre Drucker (LUX) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:11
10 Daniel Oss (ITA) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:11
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
29 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:48
37 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:48