Emakumeen Euskal Bira - Race Overview

Emma Johansson finished on the podium on all but one of the four days of racing in the Basque Country. Following an untimely mechanical on stage one that took her out of contention of a repeat overall victory, ORICA-AIS rallied back in pursuit of stage wins. Whilst the Australian outfit was unable to wrangle control from a dominant Rabobank-Liv, each of the team's five riders threw everything they had into the undulating road races in pursuit of stage glory. Johansson earned a trio of third places en route to eighth overall. Shara Gillow rounded out the top ten on the general classification. Valentina Scandolara earned most aggressive on stage two, animating each of the stages with her spirited attacks. 

The yellow race leader’s jersey changed backs twice throughout the race but never left Rabobank-Liv. Pauline Ferrand Prevot wore the jersey following her stage one win. Marianne Vos took it with a stage win on day two. Ferrand Prevot won stage three to take back the jersey heading into the final day of the race. Although Vos soloed to victory on Sunday, her advantage was not enough to assume the overall race lead from her teammate.

"If we move the stage one result aside, we got the best results we could these last four days. Emma rounded out the podium on three stages and we put two in the top ten overall, with Emma in eighth place and Shara Gillow in tenth place. Rabobank are really dominating right now. Going into the next race, we have to think hard how we are going to beat that team. They have several riders who are going well, which offers them plenty of options." - Sport Director Gene Bates 

General Classification

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv 10:48:15
2 Marianne Vos (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv 0:01:12
3 Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv 0:01:56
4 Ashleigh Moolman (RSA) - Hitec Products 0:03:26
5 Claudia Häusler (Ger) - Giant-Shiamno 0:03:31
6 Megan Guarnier (USA) - Boels-Dolmans 0:03:40
7 Fabiana Luperini (Ita) - Estado de México-Faren Kuota 0:03:47
8 Emma Johansson (Swe) - ORICA-AIS 0:04:07
9 Jessie Daams (Bel) - Boels-Dolmans 0:05:31
10 Shara Gillow (Ned) - ORICA-AIS 0:06:59
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
8 Emma Johansson (Swe) - ORICA-AIS 0:04:07
10 Shara Gillow (Ned) - ORICA-AIS 0:06:59
25 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:16:54
29 Valentina Scandolara (Ita) - ORICA-AIS 0:17:42
55 Loes Gunnewijk (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:26:30