Emakumeen Euskal Bira
Stage 2: Oñati - Oñati - Stage Details

Marianne Vos (Rabobank-Liv) won the second stage of Emakumeen Euskal Bira to assume the race lead from her teammate Pauline Ferrand Prevot. The new race leader soloed to victory after attacking a group of eight riders that had taken shape on the final climb of the day. Emma Johansson finished second in the chase group sprint behind Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans) to round the stage two podium.

Following a disappointing opening day of racing which saw Johansson flat out of contention for the overall victory, ORICA-AIS came out with all cylinders firing on Friday. Attacks began from the gun, and the Australian outfit proved the most unrelenting. Loes Gunnewijk spent a lengthy spell alone up the road, and Valentina Scandolora won most aggressive for her constant attempts to break away from the bunch.

“It was a much better day today,” said Sport Director Gene Bates. “There was a really good feeling in the group this morning before the start of the race. The girls wanted to come out and race really aggressively. They were certainly keen to get up the road and make the most of every opportunity that presented itself, so I wasn’t surprised that they were right in the thick of the action today.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Marianne Vos (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv 2:54:38
2 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) - Boels-Dolmans 0:00:22
3 Emma Johansson (Swe) - ORICA-AIS ST
4 Chantal Blaak (Ned) - Specialized-lululemon ST
5 Pauline Ferrand-Prevot (Fra) - Rabobank-Liv ST
6 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv ST
7 Ashleigh Moolman (RSA) - Hitec Products ST
8 Claudia Häusler (Ger) - Giant-Shimano ST
9 Lucinda Brand (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv ST
10 Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Emma Johansson (Swe) - ORICA-AIS ST
14 Valentina Scandolara (Ita) - ORICA-AIS 0:00:35
26 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
36 Shara Gillow (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
65 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) - ORICA-AIS 0:06:39