Emakumeen Euskal Bira
Stage 3: Arrieta - Mungia - Stage Details

Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Rabobank-Liv) soloed to victory on the third stage of Emakueen Euskal Bira. In doing so, she took back the yellow jersey that her teammate Marianne Vos had taken from her following stage two. The overnight race leader led home a group of nine chasers that had split from a larger chase group that formed over the mid-stage category two climb. ORICA-AIS’ Emma Johansson sprinted in for third place, her second consecutive podium, 1’44 behind Ferrand Prevot and two seconds down on Vos.

Valentina Scandolara animated the first half of the stage, attacking out of the peloton and inspiring the day’s early breakaway. The Italian combined forces with Lucinda Brand (Rabobank-Liv) and Emma Pooley (Lotto Belisol). The three riders collaborated well together until their catch.

The mid-stage category two climb proved decisive, shattering the peloton and serving as the backdrop for the front group’s formation. Seventeen riders reached the summit with a small gap over the chasers in their wake. Down the descent, the leaders solidified their advantage.

When Pooley attacked, Vos jumped to mark the move. When Vos had joined forces with Pooley, Ferrand-Prevot accelerated away from the bunch. She briefly caught the two leaders before passing them, pedaling furiously toward the finish. Shara Gillow led the chase to the lone leader, but without a collective effort from the group, Ferrand-Prevot’s gap ballooned out beyond two minutes, coming down only slightly before the finish line.

"There were other teams in what had become the first chase group that had more representation and more to gain than us. We expected that they would work with us to bring Pauline back, and I was really surprised that it didn’t happen. Although there were several riders that attacked in an attempt to bridge across, they weren’t interested in collaborating in the chase. Without a collective, concerted effort, Pauline soloed to the finish." - Sport Director Gene Bates


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) - Rabobank-Liv 2:32:47
2 Marianne Vos (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv 0:01:42
3 Emma Johansson (Swe) - ORICA-AIS 0:01:44
4 Ashleigh Moolman (RSA) - Hitec Products ST
5 Megan Guarnier (USA) - Boels - Dolmans ST
6 Alena Amialiusik (Blr) - Astana BePink ST
7 Jessie Daams (Bel) - Boels - Dolmans 0:01:48
8 Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv ST
9 Claudia Häusler (Ger) - Giant-Shimano ST
10 Fabiana Luperini (Ita) - Estado de México-Faren Kuota ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Emma Johansson (Swe) - ORICA-AIS 0:01:44
15 Shara Gillow (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:02:34
18 Valentina Scandolara (Ita) - ORICA-AIS 0:08:04
52 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:08:06
59 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) - ORICA-AIS ST