Eneco Tour
Stage 2: Breda to Breda - Stage Details

2016 Tour de France stage winner Michael Matthews produced the fastest time for ORICA-BikeExchange in the individual time trial on stage two of the Eneco Tour today.

Matthews finished in 27th place on the stage with a time of 11minutes and 12seconds for the 9.6kilometre course, 24seconds down on eventual winner Rohan Dennis (BMC).

The stage win saw Dennis move into the overall race lead with Matthews also in 27th on the general classification ahead of stage three.

Road captain Mathew Hayman did not start stage two due to sickness and the whole team wishes him a speedy recovery.

Sport director Laurenzo Lapage praised the efforts of Matthews against a tough field.

“Michael (Matthews) produced a very good time trial today,” said Lapage. “His time is more than respectable considering who is around him on the leaderboard, ex-world and European champions who are specialists in their field and the winner, Dennis, was in a class of his own today.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Rohan Dennis (AUS) - BMC Racing Team 0:10:48
2 Jos van Emden (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:00:05
3 Jasha Sütterlin (GER) - Movistar Team 0:00:14
4 Wilco Kelderman (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:00:15
5 Matthias Brändle (AUT) - IAM Cycling 0:00:15
6 Primoz Roglic (SLO) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:00:16
7 Taylor Phinney (USA) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:16
8 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Tinkoff Team 0:00:17
9 Marcel Kittel (GER) - Etixx - Quick-Step 0:00:17
10 Alex Dowsett (GBR) - Movistar Team 0:00:18
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
27 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:24
72 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:46
98 Alex Edmondson (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:58
119 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:06
128 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:10
175 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:56