Eneco Tour
Stage 6: Riemst to Lanaken - Stage Details

2016 Paris-Nice stage winner Michael Matthews finished in 11th place on stage six of the Eneco Tour today after the stage win came from the breakaway.

After threatening to stay clear on two other occasions in the last few days, stage six saw the early breakaway finally hold off the peloton to take the stage victory.

Luka Pibernik (Lampre-Merida) took the honours after sprinting ahead of his five companions some five seconds ahead of the chasing bunch.

Matthews was the best finisher for ORICA-BikeExchange in 11th place and with no change on the general classification Rohan Dennis (BMC) takes the race lead into tomorrow’s final stage.

Sport director Laurenzo Lapage anticipates an aggressive conclusion to the race on Sunday.

“There was no real commitment to the chase in the finale today,” said Lapage. “We were working to stay in position before the final climb with 30kilometres to go, but after that we didn’t have the numbers to fully commit on the front.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Luka Pibernik (SLO) - Lampre - Merida 4:28:45
2 Mark McNally (GBR) - Wanty - Groupe Gobert ST
3 Bert Van Lerberghe (BEL) - Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise ST
4 Alexis Gougeard (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
5 Chad Haga (USA) - Team Giant-Alpecin ST
6 Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo 0:00:05
7 Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:00:05
8 Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) - Dimension Data 0:00:05
9 Arnaud Démare (FRA) - FDJ 0:00:05
10 Jonas Van Genechten (BEL) - IAM Cycling 0:00:05
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
11 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:05
67 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:05
105 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:23
151 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:06:14
152 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:06:14