Eneco Tour
Stage 7: Bornem to Geraardsbergen - Stage Details

Chris Juul Jensen wrapped up the 2016 Eneco Tour for ORICA-BikeExchange with 14th place on today’s spectacular final stage after animating the late breakaway over the rain soaked cobblestones.

First new signing Carlos Verona infiltrated the early attack before teammate Juul Jensen jumped clear with the second breakaway as today’s final stage split over the wet cobbled climbs, before a select trio went on to contest the finale.

Edvald Boasson-Hagen (Dimension-Data) won the stage with Niki Terpstra (Etixx-Quickstep) taking the overall race victory.

26-year-old Juul Jensen finished 14th from the chasing group and was also the best rider overall for ORICA-BikeExchange in 23rd on the general classification.

Sport director Laurenzo Lapage praised the efforts of the young squad over the course of the race and spoke of the importance of learning from the experience.

“We tried to be aggressive and get something started today,” said Lapage. “We had Carlos (Verona) in the first break and then Chris (Juul Jensen) was part of the attack that the winning move came from. It is important to try and we certainly did that.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) - Dimension Data 4:33:36
2 Niki Terpstra (NED) - Etixx - Quick-Step 0:00:01
3 Oliver Naesen (BEL) - IAM Cycling 0:00:01
4 Tom Dumoulin (NED) - Team Giant-Alpecin 0:00:42
5 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:42
6 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Tinkoff Team 0:00:46
7 Wilco Kelderman (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:00:46
8 Jos van Emden (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:00:48
9 Jon Izagirre Insausti (SPA) - Movistar Team 0:00:48
10 Dmitriy Gruzdev (KAZ) - Astana Pro Team 0:00:48
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
14 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:58
25 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:50