EnergieWacht Tour
Stage 3b: Appingedam Circuit - Stage Details

The second of two stages on the EnergieWacht Tour double day came down to a bunch sprint. It had been a scenario ORICA-AIS had been hoping to avoid after the morning time trial shook out the overall classification. Nettie Edmondson was the team's best placed rider in fourth place while Kirsten Wild (Argos-Shimano) took her third stage win. The former race leader slipped down to fifth after the morning time trial but remains a threat to Loes Gunnewijk's hold on third place after putting 10” into Loes at the finish for a total of 11” on the stage.

"Ultimately, a group of four non-GC riders got away with 16 kilometres to go. Whilst we were delighted with that development, many teams were not. It was disappointing when the other sprinters’ teams joined Wild’s Argos-Shimano team to chase down the break with five kilometres to go. At that point, our team missed a great opportunity to send our non-GC riders down the road, which meant the race ended in a bunch sprint convincingly won by Wild." - Sport Director Martin Barras


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Kirsten Wild (Ned) - Argos-Shimano 1:57:52
2 Jolien d'Hoore (Bel) - Lotto Belisol ST
3 Chloe Hosking (Aus) - Hitech Product UCK ST
4 Annette Edmondson (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
5 Laura Trott (GBr) - Wiggle Honda ST
6 Emily Collins (NZl) - Wiggle Honda ST
7 Danielle King (GBr) - Wiggle Honda ST
8 Emilie Moberg (Swi) - Hitech Product UCK ST
9 Christine Majerus (Lux) - Sengers Ladies ST
10 Jessy Druyts (Bel) - Belgium ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Annette Edmondson (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
13 Sungeun Gu (Kor) - ORICA-AIS ST
32 Gracie Elvin (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
48 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) - ORICA-AIS ST
86 Shara Gillow (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST