Energiewacht Tour
Stage 1: Delfzijl - Stage Details

Loes Gunnewijk earned the most aggressive jersey on the opening stage of the Energiewacht Tour while Gracie Elvin was the top finisher for ORICA-AIS in fifth place. Kirsten Wild (Giant Shimano), winner of four out of five stages last year, picked up where she left off, outsprinting Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans) and Jolien D’Hoore (Lotto Belisol) to the top step of the podium.

Winds split the bunch in the opening ten kilometres on the first of four 22.8 kilometre circuit laps. Elvin, Gunnewijk and Hoskins made the 28 rider selection. Behind the leaders, four additional groups took shape.

Inside two laps left to race, the first and second groups on the road merged. The size of the group roughly doubled.

Gunnewijk had punctured just before the regrouping, and she was fighting her way back to the front group as the kilometres ticked down. Her efforts proved worthwhile as she reconnected with the bunch eight kilometres from the finish.

Seven kilometres from the finish, Elvin attacked in an effort to avoid the seemingly inevitable bunch sprint. The peloton responded quickly, overtaking her within a kilometre.

With Elvin’s acceleration neutralised, the sprint trains came to the fore with Giant-Shimano flexing their muscles on the front of the bunch. Wild handily bested Armitstead. D’Hoore crossed the line with a bike length gap to the top two on the stage.

“We still have quite a few cards to play. The other teams showed their form and their tactics today. We definitely have an idea of the most likely scenarios we’ll face in the next few days.” - Gracie Elvin


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Kirsten Wild (Ned) - Giant-Shimano 2:16:10
2 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) - Boels-Dolmans ST
3 Jolien D'Hoore (Bel) - Lotto Belisol Ladies ST
4 Barbara Guarischi (Ita) - Alé Cipollini ST
5 Gracie Elvin (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
6 Thalita de Jong (Ned) - Rabank Liv ST
7 Martina Zwick (Ger) - Bigla Cycling ST
8 Emilie Moberg (Nor) - Hitec Products ST
9 Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) - Alé Cipollini ST
10 Roxanne Fournier (Fra) - Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscop.86 ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
5 Gracie Elvin (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
15 Melissa Hoskins (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
30 Jessie MacLean (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
51 Carlee Taylor (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
80 Loes Gunnewijk (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
81 Shara Gillow (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST