Energiewacht Tour
Stage 2: Westerwolde - Stage Details

Jessie MacLean was voted the most aggressive rider on the second stage of the Energiewacht Tour following a solo move on the third of three circuit laps. MacLean spent 20 kilometres time trialing her way toward the finish before she rejoined the peloton just outside the final ten kilometres. Back in the bunch, MacLean crashed out of contention before the sprint.

Left to fend for herself in the finale, Elvin managed ninth in the reduced bunch kick won by Kirsten Wild (Giant-Shimano). It is the second straight win for the Dutchwomen in her home country tour. Elvin remains the best placed rider for ORICA-AIS on the general classification in eighth place, 25” down on Wild in the overall lead, ahead of tomorrow’s double day.

"The race was constantly splitting and coming back together. All day long there were general regroupings. We were definitely caught on the back foot during the first lap today. When things split up during the technical section for the first time, Loes [Gunnewijk], Mel [Hoskins], Gracie and I were in the first chase group behind the leaders. That wasn’t a good situation for us. Luckily we chased back on, and we were much more alert in the last two laps – on the front and more aggressive. It wasn’t the best start, but we remedied the situation pretty quickly. We wanted to be active on the last lap to put other teams under pressure and see if we could split things up further." - Jessie MacLean

"Jessie attacked on the last lap, and that was a good move for us. When she was up the road, the group had split again after the cobble section and in the crosswinds. When she came back, I looked at who was there and saw that it was just me and Jessie, so I told her: “Awesome job! But now you have to look after me as much as you can.” She did well to stay near the front and protect me." - Gracie Elvin


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Kirsten Wild (Ned) - Giant-Shimano 2:47:28
2 Barbara Guarischi (Ita) - Alé Cipollini ST
3 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) - Boels-Dolmans ST
4 Jolien d'Hoore (Bel) - Lotto Belisol Ladies ST
5 Elena Cecchini (Ita) - Estado de México-Faren Kuota ST
6 Martina Zwick (Ger) - Bigla Cycling Team ST
7 Aurore Verhoeven (Fra) - Lointek ST
8 Kim de Baat (Ned) - Parkhotel Valkenburg ST
9 Gracie Elvin (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
10 Lotta Lepistö (Fin) - Bigla Cycling Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
9 Gracie Elvin (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
72 Carlee Taylor (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:01:36
76 Melissa Hoskins (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
80 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) - ORICA-AIS ST
87 Jessie MacLean (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:04:05