Energiewacht Tour
Stage 4: Uithuizen - Stage Details

Following the penultimate day of racing in Northern Holland, ORICA-AIS’ Gracie Elvin retains her hold on ninth overall at the Energiewacht Tour. The Australian National Road Champion was part of a 16 rider chase group that finished 1’09 behind solo stage winner Lucinda Brand (Rabobank-Liv). With her stage win, Brand assumes the yellow jersey from overnight leader Vera Koedooder (Bigla).

Brand attacked from a breakaway that took shape on the second of four circuit laps that started and finished in Uithuizen. Crosswinds split the peloton, and a leading group of 17 riders materialised.

The lone ORICA-AIS rider in the move, Elvin was forced to conserve her energy and allow other teams to do the chase work. Tiffany Cromwell (Specialized-lululemon) was the first rider to slip away from the breakaway. She stretched out her advantage to 40” before the chasers reeled her back into their fold.

Brand countered Cromwell’s catch. The Dutchwoman immediately gained 10”. Slowly but steadily Brand extended her advantage. Twenty kilometres from the finish, she had a minute on Elvin and company.

“Brand got a good gap straightaway. It never looked like it was going to come back. She fairly easily held on all the way to the finish. Gracie was by herself in the group. She had to conserve and then lay all her cards on the table with an attack or two at the end because there were some really fast girls in that group.. She had a couple good attempts, but unfortunately, it didn’t come off for her today. There were a lot of attacks when Brand was already gone. We really needed another rider or two today. That would have been perfect for us. It was unfortunate that the others missed it.” - Sport Director Gene Bates



Place Rider/Team Time
1 Lucinda Brand (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv 3:33:42
2 Jolien d'Hoore (Bel) - Lotto Belisol Ladies 0:01:09
3 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) - Boels-Dolmans ST
4 Trixi Worrack (Ger) - Specialized-lululemon ST
5 Barbara Guarischi (Ita) - Alé Cipollini ST
6 Elena Cecchini (Ita) - Estado de México-Faren Kuota ST
7 Kirsten Wild (Ned) - Giant-Shimano ST
8 Ellen van Dijk (Ned) - Boels-Dolmans ST
9 Lisa Brennauer (Ger) - Specialized-lululemon ST
10 Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
14 Gracie Elvin (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
61 Shara Gillow (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:01:49
73 Melissa Hoskins (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
88 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) - ORICA-AIS ST
96 Jessie MacLean (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
97 Carlee Taylor (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST