EPZ Omloop van Borsele - Race Overview

On a wind swept day in Holland, Loes Gunnewijk took second place in a two-up sprint to the line at Omloop van Borsele. Her lone breakaway companion, Vera Koedooder (Sengers Ladies), took top honours. ORICA-AIS was excited to have two sprinters in the race today, although the expectation that the race would come down to a bunch sprint was slim. Indeed, the field was split into several groups as the wind and crashes took their toll on the peloton. In the end, it was Gunnewijk and Koedooder who would stay away from a small group of chasers to fight for victory in Borsele.

“Unfortunately we didn’t win. We pretty much had the best numbers. Rabobank also had three but our three were stronger. Being so close, it’s always a little bit harder to swallow. Loes finished a strong classics campaign. It would have been nice if she could have won before she had a little break from racing. We did a really good job with what we had.” - Sport Director Dave McPartland

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Vera Koedooder (Ned) - Sengers Ladies 3:05:56
2 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) - ORICA-AIS ST
3 Lucinda Brand (Ned) - Rabobank Women 0:00:27
4 Chloe Hosking (Aus) - Hitec Products UCK 0:00:53
5 Nina Kessler (Ned) - Boels Dolmans 0:01:05
6 Oksana Kozonchuk (Rus) - Rusvelo 0:02:16
7 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:02:32
8 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) - Rabobank Women 0:02:48
9 Adrie Visser (Ned) - Boels Dolmans ST
10 Ilona Hoeksma (Ned) - Parkhotel Valkenburg ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) - ORICA-AIS ST
7 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:02:32
18 Mel Hoskins (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:05:19