European Road Race Championships - Race Overview

Italian Matteo Trentin sprinted to victory from a small group at the European championships in Glasgow today, bringing the special championship jersey to Mitchelton-SCOTT for the first time in the team's seven year existence.

It was an incredible performance by the 29-year-old, who bounced back from a spinal fracture which he sustained earlier in the year during Paris-Roubaix, to return to top form and sprint to the championship victory for Italy.

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Matteo Trentin (Italy) - 5:50:02
2 Mathieu Van Der Poel (Netherlands) -
3 Wout Van Aert (Belgium) -
4 Jesus Herrada Lopez (Spain) -
5 Davide Cimolai (Italy) -
6 Xandro Meurisse (Belgium) - 0:00:07
7 Michael Albasini (Switzerland) - 0:00:07
8 Pierre Luc Perichon (France) -
9 Nico Denz (Germany) - 0:00:25
10 Maurits Lammertink (Netherlands) - 0:02:15
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time