Giro d'Italia
Stage 12: Barbaresco - Barolo ITT - Stage Details

Rigoberto Urán (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) won the first individual time trial at the Giro d’Italia. The Colombian covered the 41.9 kilometre course in a time of 57’34, 1’17 faster than Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida) in second. Cadel Evans (BMC) finished third. With his winning margin, Urán pulled on the maglia rosa. He is the first Colombian to lead the Italian Grand Tour.

Ivan Santaromita was the best placed rider for ORICA-GreenEDGE on stage 12. The Italian National Champion finished in 72nd place, 6’08 behind Urán. With Luke Durbridge out of the race and Svein Tuft carrying major injuries, the Australian outfit elected not to put forth substantial effort in the race against the clock.

“Today was a day of not taking any risks and conserving energy for what’s going to be a very hard second half of the Giro.” – Sport Director Matt White


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 0:57:34
2 Diego Ulissi (Ita) - Lampre-Merida 0:01:17
3 Cadel Evans (Aus) - BMC Racing Team 0:01:34
4 Rafal Majka (Pol) - Tinkoff-Saxo 0:01:39
5 Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 0:01:53
6 Wout Poels (Ned) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 0:02:00
7 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team 0:02:03
8 Thomas De Gendt (Bel) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 0:02:07
9 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:02:09
10 Patrick Gretsch (Ger) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:02:12
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
72 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:08
102 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:25
106 Svein Tuft (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:32
127 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:08:06
137 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:08:20