Giro d'Italia
Stage 13: Fossano - Rivarolo Canavese - Stage Details

The breakaway earned an unexpected victory on stage 13 of the Giro d’Italia with Marco Canola (Bardiani CSF) winning a three-up sprint. The Italian was part of a six man move that formed early in the stage. A lack of cooperation amongst the sprinters’ teams in the final ten kilometres allowed the leading trio to evade the peloton all the way to the finish line.

Six riders formed the escape of the day. With Jackson Rodriguez (Androni Giocattoli) best-placed on the overall in the breakaway, nearly one hour down on race leader Rigoberto Uran (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step), the chase work was left to teams with an interest in the stage win. Initially and Giant-Shimano assumed the bulk of the responsibility for the pace-making, never allowing the leaders more than 3’30 on the field.

A hailstorm followed rain showers, causing race commissaires to slow the field before the race hit the finish circuit. Twenty kilometres from the finish, the break had 1’42 and seemed determine to shut down the move, which would eventually split in half. The peloton managed to overtake three of the early escapees while the stronger three hung on for the win.

It was a quiet day for ORICA-GreenEDGE. Svein Tuft was the only rider from the Australian outfit to finish on bunch time, crossing the finish line 11” behind Canola in 97th place.

“The sprint teams massively messed up the chase today. We didn’t feature in the action today. We would have liked to have done something in sprint with Mitch [Docker], but he wasn’t in a good way today.” - Sport Director Matt White


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Marco Canola (Ita) - Bardiani-CSF 3:37:20
2 Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) - Androni Giocattoli ST
3 Angelo Tulik (Fra) - Team Europcar ST
4 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) - 0:00:11
5 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) - Trek Factory Racing ST
6 Elia Viviani (Ita) - Cannondale ST
7 Luka Mezgec (Slo) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
8 Ben Swift (GBr) - Team Sky ST
9 Tyler Farrar (USA) - Garmin Sharp ST
10 Borut Bozic (Slo) - Astana Pro Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
97 Svein Tuft (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
128 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:36
140 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:52
143 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:13
174 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:01